Mediterranean Chickpea Salad

I’m all for healthy foods. I love them. They make me feel better, and I know how important it is to fuel our bodies with good things.

That being said, I really don’t like salad. Lettuce, spinach, arugula, whatever. On tacos or sandwiches? In smoothies? Bring it on. As the main even at a meal? No. No, thank you.

So lately I’ve been really into experimenting with non-leaf salads. And this one is a winner!

FullSizeRender-4

What you’ll need:
1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 small red onion, chopped
1 cucumber, chopped
10-ish grape tomatoes, halved or quartered
1/4 cup kalamata olives
1-2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1-2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
1-2 tsp oregano
1/4 cup feta cheese

Mix everything together except for the feta. I’ve found that it’s easier to sprinkle the feta on just before you’re ready to eat/serve it rather than let it turn into mush in the container for a day. This salad will usually last me 2-3 lunches as the main course, and I always look forward to lunch on these days! For a little more protein, I’ll sometimes add chopped rotisserie chicken if I have leftovers.

What’s your favorite salad?

Leave a Reply

